Skip to content

Review: Nirvana – Bleach (20th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)

December 12, 2009

To read my review in Swedish, head over to Kulturbloggen.

Twenty years after the original release Nirvana’s Bleach comes out as a remastered double CD edition. The album was recorded in December 1988 and January 1989 in the Seattle based Reciprocal Recording Studio and was the beginning of an enormous international success for the band Nirvana. Even though the breakthrough came with the 1991 album Nevermind, the album Bleach has up to date sold 1.7 million copies in the U.S alone.

Original album producer Jack Endino has overseen the remastering of the new Anniversary Edition and I think it is a must buy for every Nirvana fan. It contains a previously not released live recording of the Pine Street Theatre show in Portland, Oregon back in 1990. A show that includes tracks like “Love Buzz”, “About A Girl” and a cover of The Vaselines “Molly’s Lips”. Previously mentioned producer Jack Endino has also remixed the live recording from the original tapes.

As an alternative to the double-CD the album is also released as a double-LP, on white vinyl just like the original release twenty years ago.

A 48-page booklet for the CD and a 16-page one for the LP, with photos, a scan of the first order with the bands name spelled wrong, the record deal contract with Sub Pop and much more is included in this ”must have in the record collection”-release.

When choosing between the CD and the LP, I go for the double-LP, but that’s just a matter of taste. The remastered Bleach has Nirvana sounding as angry, dirty, cocky and loud as I want them to, no matter format.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. polmangilog permalink
    December 30, 2009 10:59

    Has it been 20 years? Wow! Thank you for the info. I’m headed for my local record store now. 🙂

    Pauline

    • Sika permalink*
      December 30, 2009 10:59

      Yes. As weird as it sounds, it has been 20 years..! So Pauline, will you go vinyl or CD? 🙂

  2. polmangilog permalink
    December 30, 2009 10:59

    Sika, if I had the moolah, I’d go for both! Vinyl for its old-school appeal (and if only to resurrect our ailing turntable); and CD for the convenience. 🙂 Incidentally, a brother in law recently gave away a boxfull of vinyl records (I don’t know what he was thinking). So now, in my possession are LPs of almost all of the albums of Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, Black Sabbath, Cream and Rolling Stones! Not in pristine condition but totally precious still.

    • Sika permalink*
      December 30, 2009 10:59

      Oh man, I’m so jealous. I really need to get me a better brother-in-law. Mine gave me socks for Christmas.

      I love listening to vinyl records, but I get what your saying about the convenience. Pretty much all of my music is on my computer nowadays… But I do have a turntable and as often as I can, I take the time to play my records.

      Old School Rocks!

      • polmangilog permalink
        December 31, 2009 10:59

        Haha! A pair of socks? Poor you! Well, you can always use them to wipe your vinyl collection hehe…

        Yup, can’t agree with you more. Old school rocks!

Leave a comment