Skip to content

We have Beards so we know Movies: Men in Black 3 (2012)

June 7, 2012

It took ten years, a lot of rewrites and a lot of waiting on Will Smith to get some “serious movies” out of his system, but finally a third Men in Black movie was released. I must confess, after they made that second one back in 2002 (you know, the not so good one) I didn’t wan’t another one. I wasn’t excited at all when I heard they were making it. I didn’t even plan on going to the cinema to see it.

SO, why the hell did you end up going to see it Sika, you ask? Well, I had a good reason… My mother.
A couple of times a year, me and my mother go to the movies together. And I always let her choose what movie to see. And this time around our phone conversation sounded like this:

Me: So, what movie do you want to see?
Mom: I read in the newspaper they made a new Men in Black movie.
Me: Oh, okay, yeah I heard that too.
Mom: I want to see that one.
Me: Well.. have you heard of a movie called “Cabin in the Woods”? That one is supposed to be great!
Mom: What kind of movie is that?
Me: It’s a horror movie, mom.
Mom: I don’t like horror movies. Is Tommy Lee Jones in that one too?
Me: No.
Mom: I want to see Men in Black.

So we did. And I don’t regret it. Men in Black 3 was actually really great. It was! It was entertaining from beginning to end, fast-paced, funny, action-packed and the 3D was great (like, you forget it’s even in 3D and get constantly surprised that it actually is). AND, it was so much better than the second one, perhaps even as good as the first one (which I really loved).

I’m also happy that Will Smith is back doing movies we like him to do. Don’t get me wrong, I loved him in Seven Pounds and The Pursuit of Happyness, but I think I like him even more in these kind of movies, where he can do what he does best; be funny and be bad-ass. And it seems Will Smith agrees. I just glanced at his filmography over at IMDb and three out of five of his upcoming projects are:

Hancock 2, Bad Boys 3 and I, Robot 2.. I’m really excited about Bad Boys 3. Maybe that can help Martin Lawrence get back to being in funny and entertaining movies again too? I’m a bit skeptical though, but time will tell.

And finally, even though I really enjoyed Men in Black 3, I walked out of the movie theatre with a lot of questions. I say a lot, it was two. All of them Tommy Lee Jones related though..the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

1. Did Tommy Lee Jones dub the dialogue for Josh Brolin, who’s playing a younger version of him? It sure sounded like it.

If he didn’t, Josh Brolin must have done his “Sounding like Tommy Lee Jones” homework and deserves some kind of award for that.the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

2. How old is Tommy Lee Jones? The Internet says he was born in 1946, but we all know information on the Internet can be wrong.

Even my mom was like: “Wow, Tommy Lee Jones looked really old!!” I said: “Well, it was the first time we’ve seen his wrinkles in 3D, maybe that’s the reason?” We agreed that must be the case.

Go see it. The wrinkles alone is worth the ticket price.

the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

More “We have Beards so we know Movies!” Reviews
Prometheus 
The Hunger Games
The Thing (2011) vs The Thing (1982) vs The Thing from Another World (1951)
The Turin Horse
Straw Dogs
Abduction
Midnight in Paris  Green Lantern
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2
Death Wish 1-5
Transformers: Dark of the Moon 3D
Super 8
Melancholia
Insidious
Red Riding Hood
The Hangover Part II
Fast Five 
Thor 3D 
Tron: Legacy
the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

