Skip to content

We have Beards so we know Movies: Prometheus (2012)

June 4, 2012

As soon as I heard Ridley Scott was making a prequel to Alien (1979) I knew four things:

1. I had to see it.

2. I knew I had to swallow my pride and confess that sometimes (just sometimes) it’s good that Hollywood makes prequels or reboots a franchise.

3. I knew I didn’t want to know anything about it beforehand. I love to watch certain movies not knowing what to expect. Which meant I had to 
stay the hell away from any trailers, images or actor promotion videos they were going to spread to every corner of the Internet a year or so before the premiere.

4.
I knew I had to mentally prepare for the fact that I had to listen to Noomi Rapace speak English. Trust me, most Swedish actors has worse English accents than ABBA.

Tonight, after months of preparations, I finally went to see Prometheus in 3D.

And I really, really liked it! I’m not prepared to say “I loved it” yet, since I’m still so much in love with its two sequels, Alien and Aliens, but I think everyone should see it AND I can say that I did love:

1. Noomi Rapace. I really loved her performance. She felt more fragile than bad-ass Sigourney Weaver AND she’d really done her homework when it came to speaking English. It sounded near perfect in my ears.
2. Idris Elba. Wow, that man would turn me gay quicker than Ryan Gosling.
3. Michael Fassbender proved he is one of the best actors out there at the moment, by stealing pretty much every scene he’s in playing an emotionless android.
4. Charlize Theron. Made me straight again.
Sure, Prometheus had some pot holes and maybe the dialogue wasn’t the greatest I’ve ever heard, and maybe some of the “chocking reveals” wasn’t chocking enough, but I actually don’t think that mattered. The suspense was there, the gore was gory, the 3D was great, I got really scared a bunch of times, I was disgusted and entertained and the acting was pretty damn good.

The only thing that really bothered me was the fact that they put a crappy “old-man-mask” on Guy Pearce. Why? Why use a young actor to play an old character? I don’t get it. I hope Christopher Plummer or Max von Sydow sues the production for ageism.

Or is that reversed ageism? I don’t know what it would be called, so screw the lawsuit. But here’s hoping Max and Christopher at least jumps Guy Pearce during an upcoming award show and beats the hell out of him while screaming: “We could have played that role better than you, bitch!”

I’m not sure whether or not I will wake up tomorrow and change my opinion from “really, really like” to “love”, but whatever happens me and Prometheus will definitely “stay friends” and I think I would like to see her, sorry, it again.

And a sequel. I would like to see that too. There will be a Prometheus sequel, right??the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

More “We have Beards so we know Movies!” Reviews
The Hunger Games
The Thing (2011) vs The Thing (1982) vs The Thing from Another World (1951)
The Turin Horse
Straw Dogs
Abduction
Midnight in Paris  Green Lantern
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2
Death Wish 1-5
Transformers: Dark of the Moon 3D
Super 8
Melancholia
Insidious
Red Riding Hood
The Hangover Part II
Fast Five 
Thor 3D 
Tron: Legacy
the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

