Skip to content

Shamelessly Sick

March 20, 2012

I have been feeling a bit nauseous the last couple of days. I don’t know why, usually it is Sika’s constant singing that makes me sick to my stomach. But since I have been home in bed and spared from listening to his constant outburst in Musical numbers, it actually might be the flue this time.

Being sick is boring, but fortunately I have found a new TV show starring William H. Macy I really like, Shameless US. When reading about it on IMDb I first thought it was a documentary about Janne the Director and his family, but it turned out to be a drama about an American family instead.

“Meet the fabulously dysfunctional Gallagher family. Dad’s a drunk, Mom split long ago, eldest daughter Fiona tries to hold the family together. Eldest son Philip (Lip) trades his physics tutoring skills for sexual favors from neighborhood girls. Middle son Ian is gay. Youngest daughter Debbie is stealing money from her UNICEF collection. Ten-year-old Carl is a budding sociopath and an arsonist, and toddler Liam is – well, he might actually be black, but nobody has a clue how.”

The sad part is there are only 24 episodes available which means I will be all caught in a day. That’s not nearly enough episodes to keep me entertained the multiple days I’m spending in bed.

Sure, I could see the original TV show that Shameless US is a remake of; called Shameless. But I hesitate to do that. That one is made in the UK back in 2004. Yeah, I know, old! I just know that it will be a little more realistic and a little more “British”. William H. Macy will not play the deadbeat father; Fiona will not be as good looking as Emmy Rossum and the budget will be a lot less. You know, bad things when it comes to TV shows.

Does anyone know if the UK version is worth watching?

the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2012 10:59

    This is one US remake of a Brit show that is as authentic and unsentimental as the original.

    William H Macy is as comfortable a anti-hero as David Threlfall.

    I don’t know how the budget compares but given the subject matter I don’t think that matters much.

    There are over a hundred episodes – and counting – and I have not watched all of them – tend to dip in and out – but that is as much because I watch too much TV period!

    So yes if you like the US version you should like the UK version too – if you have the stomach for that many episodes that is!

  2. May 7, 2012 10:59

    I love this show!

  3. Paul permalink
    September 19, 2012 10:59

    are you drunk? The U.S show is great as a standalone, BUT when stacked up side by side with the original Paul Abbott masterpiece (which ran for 10 seasons) the pretender soon becomes crystal clear. The UK version is MUCH grittier and more realistic, the charracters have more depth and dimension. The UK version is by far the better version. I watched the U.S version first then the UK version and was blown away.

Leave a Reply

