Skip to content

The Hunchback of Celebrity Spotters

March 19, 2012

I like to visit the local library. I never check out any books (since I fear what previous lenders have been doing with/to them…), I mainly honor the library with my presence to keep up my status as an “intellectual”.

Today on one of my usual visits I spotted a celebrity!! And because famous people rarely are spotted here in northern Sweden it was a huge moment. Not only for me, but for the entire city of Umeå.

The celebrity was Swedish songwriter and guitarist Janne Schaffer. Not ringing any bells? Well, allow me to put on my Quasimodo suit and make those bells start ringing:

Janne Schaffer is alongside Yngwie Malmsteen, Sweden’s most famous guitarist; he has played on records with artists such as Bob MarleyJohnny NashCornelis Vreesvijk, Ted GärdestadArt Farmer and Tony Williams. Additionally, his guitar magic can be heard on 47 ABBA tracks.

Apart from playing with all those cool artists, he is known for putting on a striped jacket to turn himself into “The Zebra” in the group Electric Banana Band, one of Sweden’s most beloved bands for kids.

Why he was visiting a library here in town, I don’t know. Perhaps he is doing a gig or maybe he also has discovered how to uphold an intellectual status. Libraries are great for that sort of things you know. Having glasses helps too.the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

