Skip to content

RIP Whitney

February 13, 2012

Whitney Houston died this weekend. 48 years old. I think that’s sad. I remember buying her album “Whitney”. I say album, it was actually a tape since I only had a cassette deck because I couldn’t afford a turntable.

Back in the late eighties my music collection was modest to say the least. Apart from the Whitney tape I only had two other cassettes. Michael Jackson “Thriller” and Sparks “Kimono My House”. One of them got unplayable though, when I left it on the windowsill during a hot summer day and it melted beyond recognition. Much like the singer himself actually.
My favorite Whitney song was “I Wanna Dance with Somebody (Who Loves Me)”. I played it over and over again.

Back then you needed to rewind the tape if you wanted to hear it again. Remember that? I don’t know about you, but sometimes I miss the good old days when things you wanted to do took a little time and you didn’t mind it, because you weren’t in a hurry. It’s nothing like today when people see that a YouTube clip is longer than a minute they hesitate to watch it.

Whitney is dead and I think it’s sad. It gets even sadder to see that the same media that has ridiculed her the last fifteen years, now print sob-stories and honoring her page after page. I get the same throwing-up-a-little-in-my-mouth feeling that I got after Michael Jackson and Amy Winehouse died too.

RIP Whitney, you can dance with me.the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gudihimlen permalink
    February 13, 2012 10:59

    Well said…and yeah Whitney is a great album…

Leave a Reply

