Skip to content

Sika’s Top Ten Best Movies of 2011

December 29, 2011

As you might have noticed, me and Janne the Director is having a battle of the eyes. We’re both doing movie reviews, top ten lists about stuff we’ve watched and liked/disliked.

You might also have noticed that he already posted his Top 10 Best Movies of 2011. That’s only because I gave him a head start, since I do have glasses and clearly am at an advantage “watching wise”.

Here’s my list. Enjoy.the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

10. The Inbetweeners Movie
I believe every top ten list needs to begin with a motley crew of funny people being awkward towards girls, and since we haven’t gotten the money to make that kind of movie ourselves, the Inbetweeners guys have to do.the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

9. The Devil’s Double
My only encounter with Dominic Cooper prior to 2011 was an episode of Never Mind the Buzzcocks and Mamma Mia!. Now he’s popping up everywhere; as Henry Stark in Captain America, as Milton Greene in My Week with Marilyn and as Uday Hussein/Latif Yahia in The Devil’s Double. And he’s great in that one. Oscar-great.the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

8. Warrior
Speaking about Oscars; I predict Nick Nolte will win an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor next year. Why? Two reasons. 1. He’s great in this one. 2. Hollywood loves a comeback.the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

7. Hodejegerne / Headhunters
Normally I am a lover of Danish Cinema but this year the only one I’ve seen is Lars von Trier’s Melancholia and I pretty much agree with Janne the Director on that one. So with the lack of Danish movies I had to see a Norwegian one. And I know what you’re thinking; “Come on Sika, are you trying to tell us that Norway made another great movie? We know they made Elling back in 2001, but that was TEN years ago!!??” Yes, that’s what I’m saying.

It’s not only a great suspenseful movie, it also stars Aksel Hennie, the illegitimate son of Steve Buscemi.

the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

6. The Adventures of Tintin
I  really enjoyed this movie, but I mainly put it on the list because Janne the Director said he would beat me up if I didn’t.the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

5. Moneyball
As long as a movie stars Jonah Hill while he’s still fat, I’m going to like it. the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

4. The Skin I Live In / La piel que habito
I don’t usually like Pedro Almodóvar or Antonio Banderas, but I loved this movie nonetheless. Perhaps it was the frequent gratuitous showing of “skin” or just the fact that Elena Anaya was brilliant, I don’t know.the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

3. Drive
This movie made me gay for Ryan Gosling, but right back straight again because of Carey Mulligan. It was like I was a pinball and they were the flippers.the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

2. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Even though both Lunki and Janne the director only “liked” it, I loved it. For me, it was better than the Swedish version on all levels; and yes Rooney Mara is amazing as Lisbeth Salander and could outperform Noomi Rapace anyday.

Bit annoying that Daniel Craig couldn’t pronounce his own name though, I would have thought they’d hire a “Swedish accent coach” for a couple of months. For the next one, I’m offering my services. I’ll promise to teach Craig how to say “Mikael Blomkvist” flawlessly.the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

1. Jodaeiye Nader az Simin / A Separation
Wait, what?? An Iranian movie placed at the top? Yes. Screw that I had to read subtitles, when a movie is that good who cares?

If that awful Turin Horse movie beats this one for Best Foreign Movie in the upcoming Oscars I’ll promise to.. I actually don’t know what I’ll do.. Well, I can at least promise that an angry letter will be sent to someone.the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2012 10:59

    I would like this List for your Drive review alone.

Leave a Reply

