Skip to content

We have Beards so we know Movies: Straw Dogs (2011)

December 5, 2011

Title: Straw Dogs (2011)

Plot: L.A. screenwriter David Sumner (James Marsden) relocates with his wife Amy (Kate Bosworth) to her hometown in the deep South. There, while tensions build between them, a brewing conflict with locals becomes a threat to them both.

Review: First I want to say: I like this movie. Then I want to continue on with a disclaimer:

Disclaimer: Yes, I KNOW how ironic it is that after years of continued hatred against remakes, I should go ahead and like one of them. So don’t you (ie. Janne the Director) even bother to comment on it.

Yeah, I liked it. And I haven’t seen the original version with Dustin Hoffman from 1971 so I haven’t compared them. I suspect those who have has helped bring down the remakes IMDb rating to 5.6.

It deserves a higher rating. The cast alone should at least give it a 6. You have James Woods (the guy who used to guest star on Family Guy?), the blind guy from X-Men, the girl I always confuse with Kate Beckinsale, the Prison Break brother AND Walton Goggins!! I mean, come on, at least a 6!

Sidenote: I just read that in the original movie from 1971 the plot was: “A young American and his English wife come to rural England and face increasingly vicious local harassment.” I can just picture the meeting the US producers of the remake had to decide how to translate the story into an American scenery and decide how to best match “the bestiality of rural Englishmen”, and someone suggested: Rednecks!! I wonder if it was the same “someone” who, when asked “Okay, but who should we cast as the ultra-bad Southern Redneck?” answered: “How about that Swede, Alexander Skarsgård? (No, it’s NOT a typo, he actually has a ting above the “a”, it’s a Swedish thing and it’s pronounced “oh” (kinda)).

Don’t get me wrong. Having Alexander Skarsgård play a bad guy redneck was a brilliant choice in my opinion. He got the muscular structure for it and (I guess contractually obligated) he shows it off time and time again throughout the entire movie.

AND he has that devilish smile going for him. So yeah, with Skarsgård in the mix I’d say a 6.5 is in play. And I wouldn’t be surprised to see him nominated for a “Best Baddie” in the upcoming MTV Movie Awards. I’m not saying he’d win, but I’m sure he is appealing to their viewers.

One thing I did hate about this remake, was that they didn’t just remake the movie.. Apparently nothing has happened in poster design the last thirty years. The original is on the left. Yeah, I know, it’s hard to tell.

More “We have Beards so we know Movies!” Reviews

We have Beards so we know Movies: Abduction (2011)
Midnight in Paris
Catfish
Green Lantern
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2
The Complete Death Wish Collection 1-5
Transformers: Dark of the Moon 3D
Super 8
Melancholia
Insidious
Red Riding Hood
The Hangover Part II
Fast Five
Thor 3D
Tron: Legacy

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2011 10:59

    “Oh”.

    I think your description of Alexander Skarsgård just broke my Gay-dar.

  2. December 5, 2011 10:59

    I’ve seen the original – a good TV movie – if that’s not damning with faint praise!

    • Sika permalink*
      December 6, 2011 10:59

      Yeah, I noticed in the credits of the remake that it was based on a TV movie. But it has to have been in cinemas too, since it was nominated for an Oscar? Or did they perhaps have different rules at the Academy back in the days?

      • December 6, 2011 10:59

        I just checked on IMDB and had forgot that the original was directed by Sam Peckinpah. It was also banned initially due to some scenes considered too graphic by the censors – the UK version was five minutes longer than the US version for example!

        I just meant it was a good movie to watch of an afternoon on TV rather than fork out the readies at the cinema!

        Apparently the original did good box office in Sweden!

        • Sika permalink*
          December 6, 2011 10:59

          Hahaha, yeah, Swedes are drawn to violence, nudity and people with glasses!

  3. December 6, 2011 10:59

    Yeah, what the original was missing was hot rapists. Thank God they fixed that!

  4. December 6, 2011 10:59

    Sam had a few good movies though. Even other directors or producers have good movies then later something that you think it disappointed you.

  5. December 6, 2011 10:59

    I’m a huge fan of Sam Peckinpah and try to live my life in his likeness. Well, his and Mel Gibson’s. And Bob Fosse. And John Cassavetes. And… some others… What was I talking about? Oh yeah… Handsome men.

    Hm? What’s a Gosling? Sounds like a liver disease.

Leave a Reply

