Skip to content

Sika’s 100 Greatest Movies of All Time! 2.5. When Harry Met Sally… (1989)

November 23, 2011

2.5. When Harry Met Sally… [DVD] (1989) 

Plot: Harry (Billy Crystal) and Sally (Meg Ryan) first meet when she gives him a ride to New York. The film jumps through their lives as they bump into each other time and time again.

Finally they become close friends and are confronted with the problem: “Can a man and a woman be friends, without sex getting in the way?”

Can two friends sleep together and still love each other in the morning? (tagline)

Also Starring: Carrie FisherBruno Kirby
Directed by: Rob Reiner
Written by: Nora Ephron
Length: 96 minutes
Budget: $16,000,000
Gross Revenue: $92,823,546 (USA)

My Favorite Movie Quote:
Older Woman Customer: [to waiter] I’ll have what she’s having.

Review: Yeah, I know. Someone screwed up. When I reached the top three of this list I noticed I had one movie too many left. I blame math.

But since it’s my list I can do whatever I want and if that means making a special 2.5 spot for the one movie I’ve rewatched the most times in my life, then so be it.

Oscar Count: 1 Nomination: Best Writing, Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen (Nora Ephron)

This is that kind of movie that makes me wish I had a girlfriend to watch it with. Here are some other movies that makes me feel that way:

Nerdiest Movie Trivia: Nora Ephron says the famous “I’ll have what she’s having”-line was suggested by Billy Crystal. She also credits Meg Ryan with the idea of faking an orgasm in a crowded restaurant.

The woman who utters the famous line is Estelle Reiner, director Rob Reiner’s mother.

PREVIOUS ON THE LIST: 3. This is Spinal Tap (1984)

CRITERIA FOR MAKING THIS LIST

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2011 10:59

    Yeah, this deserves a place on the list! You can never watch too many Meg Ryan movies.

    • Sika permalink*
      November 24, 2011 10:59

      I couldn’t agree with you more. She is awesome!

  2. November 24, 2011 10:59

    I used to watch a new Meg Ryan movie every birthday. Guess what I wished for every time I blew out the candles on the birthday cake? A life.

Leave a Reply

