Skip to content

Sika’s 100 Greatest Movies of All Time! 8. Lethal Weapon (1987)

September 30, 2011

8. Lethal Weapon [Blu-ray] (1987)

Plot: Roger Murtaugh (Danny Glover) has just turned 50, and only has a few more years to go before he retires from the Los Angeles Police Department. Martin Riggs (Mel Gibson) has just lost his wife and doesn’t care if he lives or dies.

When they are paired together, Murtaugh has problems with Riggs suicidal attitude towards work, as they investigate a drugs baron dubbed “The General” (Mitch Ryan).

If these two can learn to stand each other… the bad guys don’t stand a chance. (tagline)

Also Starring: Gary BuseyTom AtkinsDarlene LoveTraci Wolfe
Directed by: Richard Donner
Written by: Shane Black
Length: 110 min
Budget: $15,000,000
Gross Revenue: $65,207,127 (USA)

My Favorite Movie Quote:
Murtaugh
: Have you ever met anybody you didn’t kill?
Riggs: Well, I haven’t killed you yet.

Review: Mel Gibson might be an asshole, I don’t know, but he IS a great actor. And while he won two Oscars for Braveheart, I still think his portrayal of the suicidal Martin Riggs in this first installment of the Lethal Weapon series is his finest to date. My favorite scene is, and NO it’s not the naked butt scene..
I’m talking about the scene where he’s sad and almost commits suicide, that scene is truly a work of genius.

Okay, fine! I kind of liked the butt scene too. But since I had already seen it in Gallipoli , I was already kind of used to it, so I was more like: “Yeah, yeah, here we go again”.
Danny Glover on the other hand keeps his pants on in this one. I guess he’s saving himself for the big “toilet-about-to-explode”-scene in the sequel. But I don’t remember him showing any bare cheeks there either. Hmm, maybe it wasn’t in his contract?

Nerdiest Movie Trivia: Legendary stuntman Dar Robinson was killed in a motorcycle accident shortly after principal photography was finished. Director Richard Donner dedicated the film to him.

Anyway, speaking of cheeks, sorry teeth, Gary Busey is a great bad guy! And I keep trying to remember ever seeing another movie with him as a bad guy since he was so great here, but I’m at a loss. He was a good guy in The Buddy Holly StoryBlack Sheep and Point Break. I don’t remember what he was in Predator 2 , Surviving the Game and Drop Zone, and I can’t remember seeing anything he’s starred in the last fifteen years. And especially anything where he is cast as the bad guy. Well, there’s Celebrity Apprentice of course..

You think it’s all an act? His “craziness”? I do hope so, and when I sit in my thinking chair at nights I think to myself: “He can’t be that way all the time, because if so no-one would ever hire him for anything and since he’s done like forty movies the last ten years, he must act sane at least now and then. Or at least show some sane insanity or whatever the hell he calls it.

But whatever he is, he’s awesome! And so is this movie!

Oscar Count:
1 Nomination: Best Sound (Les Fresholtz, Rick Alexander, Vern Poore, Bill Nelson)

PREVIOUS ON THE LIST: 9. Big (1988)

CRITERIA FOR MAKING THIS LIST

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

