Skip to content

Sika’s 100 Greatest Movies of All Time! 11. Alien (1979)

September 22, 2011

11. Alien – Definitive Edition [DVD] (1979)

Plot: When Ellen Ripley (Sigourney Weaver) and the crew aboard the Nostromo, on route back to Earth, intercepts a distress signal from a nearby planet, they are obligated to investigate.

After a bad landing, some crew members leave the ship to explore planet. At the same time as they discover a hive colony of some unknown creature, the ship’s computer deciphers the message to be a warning, not a call for help.

In space no one can hear you scream.  (tagline)

Also Starring: Veronica CartwrightHarry Dean StantonJohn HurtIan HolmYaphet Kotto
Directed by: Ridley Scott
Written by: Dan O’Bannon
Length: 117 min
Budget: $11,000,000
Gross Revenue: $185,000,000 (Worldwide)

My Favorite Movie Quote: Ripley: Open the door!

Review: I can’t remember when I first saw this film, but for some reason I was quite “old”. I was five when it came out in 1979 and I think I waited until I was about 16. And it scared the shit out of me!!

I’ve been trying for days to write something funny for this review, but I can’t. This movie seriously scares me. It’s almost like I’m so afraid of it I can’t even make decent jokes about it.

Nerdiest Movie Trivia: The original title was “Star Beast”.

Here’s some crappy jokes I tried to finish but didn’t. And I have to warn you, they are bad:

1. Something about how appropriate it is that Sigourney Weaver looks like Brian May since she also has to stand next to a Queen…

2. Something about “me thinking the movie was about women” but then I realized I should have done that joke when I reviewed Aliens

3. John Hurt? Yes, he was.

Told you.

Oscar Count:
1 Win:
Best Visual Effects (H.R. Giger, Carlo Rambaldi, Brian Johnson, Nick Allder, Denys Ayling)
1 Nomination:
Best Art Direction-Set Decoration

PREVIOUS ON THE LIST: 12. Dirty Rotten Scoundrels (1988)

CRITERIA FOR MAKING THIS LIST

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

