Skip to content

Sika’s 100 Greatest Movies of All Time! 17. Stand by Me (1986)

September 16, 2011

17. Stand by Me [DVD] (1986)

Plot: “Stand By Me” tells the tale of Gordie Lachance (Richard Dreyfuss), a writer who looks back on his preteen days when he, as young Gordie (Wil Wheaton), go on an adventure with his friends Chris Chambers (River Phoenix), Teddy Duchamp (Corey Feldman) and Vern Tessio (Jerry O’Connell) to try and find the body of a kid who has gone missing and is presumed dead. The stakes are upped when the “bad kids” in town lead by Ace Merrill (Kiefer Sutherland) are closely tailing them – and it becomes a race to see who’ll be able to find the body first.

Also Starring: Casey SiemaszkoJohn Cusack
Directed by: Rob Reiner
Written by: Stephen King (novel) Raynold GideonBruce A. Evans (screenplay)
Length: 89 min
Budget: $8,000,000
Gross Revenue: $51,914,208 (USA)

My Favorite Movie Quote:
Ace: What are you gonna do? Shoot us all?
Gordie: No, Ace. Just you.

Review: This movie brings out the kid in me. Well, the fat kid actually, but nevertheless, a kid..

Just like the kids in Stand By Me I too went on an adventure once. I was about six years old and me and my friend Eva headed out into the woods, collected berries, played with some ants, jumped over a big ditch, and ended our adventure two hours later at my next door neighbors house. We hadn’t gone far at all, but it was still an adventure. Our neighbor was a mean old man and he lead us back to my mother and told her to yell at us for trespassing on his property (She didn’t).

Oscar Count:
1 Nomination: 
Best Writing, Screenplay Based on Material from Another Medium (Raynold Gideon, Bruce A. Evans)

I didn’t like my neighbor very much. He was a farmer and during the summer his cows used to wander off and end up on our front lawn. Once when I opened the front door, a cow was standing right outside on the porch staring at me. “Hello cow”. I don’t think they liked him either and that’s the reason they ran away. Hahaha, it was like they were having their own “Stand By Me”-adventure.

No dead bodies in my adventure though. Some ants might have been harmed.. Sorry, but hey, they were after my cookies!! I didn’t know any better, I was a kid!! Yeah, okay, a fat kid…

Nerdiest Movie Trivia:
In an interview Kiefer Sutherland said that in one of the locations of the film, the cast and crew attended a Renaissance Fair and bought some cookies. Unfortunately, the cookies turned out to be pot cookies and two hours later, the crew found Jerry O’Connell crying and high on the cookies in the park.

PREVIOUS ON THE LIST: 18. Eddie Murphy Raw (1987)

CRITERIA FOR MAKING THIS LIST

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

