Skip to content

Sika’s 100 Greatest Movies of All Time! 42. Edward Scissorhands (1990)

September 6, 2011

42. Edward Scissorhands [DVD] (1990)

Plot: All alone in a castle on top of a hill lives an inventor’s greatest creation: Edward (Johnny Depp), whose creator died before he was finished which left Edward with scissors for hands.

One day Peg (Dianne Wiest), a lady from the town at the bottom of the hill discovers Edward and brings him to her home. At first, he makes a good impression in the community and even falls in love with Peg’s high school daughter Kim (Winona Ryder). But soon things begin to take a change for the worse.

His scars run deep. (tagline)

Also Starring: Anthony Michael HallKathy BakerVincent PriceAlan Arkin
Directed by: 
Tim Burton
Written by: Caroline Thompson (screenplay/story) Tim Burton (story)
Length: 105 min
Budget: $20,000,000
Gross Revenue: $83,400,000 (Worldwide)

Favorite Quote:
Kim:
Hold me.
Edward:
I can’t.

Review: Damn it, this list is going to out me as a “Tim Burton-lover”, I just know people will start to point and snicker when I walk down the street: “There goes that guy who loves that guy who used to make great movies but nowadays has become a remake junkie..”

Just so you know, this is Tim Burton’s third and LAST movie on this list. And I end it with a bang. Or at least with a snip.

Oscar Count: 1 Nomination: Best Makeup (Ve Neill, Stan Winston)

I love this movie for so many reasons. Here’s a few.

1. Johnny Depp is amazing in the lead.
2. The wonderful score.
3. I love that I get to hate Anthony Michael Hall and don’t have to feel guilty about it.
4. Kathy Baker is awesome.
5. Winona Ryder.

Oh Winona Ryder. Winona, Winona. Winona. I love her so much. She can’t do no wrong. I didn’t care that she was caught shoplifting or even that she was part of The Dilemma (2011). She’s lovely and I find her very attractive. If I ever get a girlfriend I’m definitely putting Winona on the top of my “freebie list“. 

Nerdiest Movie Trivia: 
Tom Cruise
Jim Carrey and Robert Downey Jr. were all considered for the role of Edward Scissorhands.

PREVIOUS ON THE LIST: 43. Trading Places (1983)

CRITERIA FOR MAKING THIS LIST

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2011 10:59

    I like number 5!

  2. September 7, 2011 10:59

    Mmm… Number five… *Drool*

Leave a Reply

