Skip to content

Sika’s 100 Greatest Movies of All Time! 51. Lost in Translation (2003)

August 24, 2011

51. Lost In Translation [DVD] (2003)

Plot: Bob Harris (Bill Murray) is a well-known American actor whose career is in decline; needing work, he takes a large fee to appear in a commercial for Japanese whiskey to be shot in Tokyo. Bob spends most of his non-working hours at his hotel, where he meets bored and newly married Charlotte (Scarlett Johansson) at the bar.

While exploring Tokyo together, the two start up a friendship, talking about their marriages, their happiness and the meaning of it all.

Also Starring: Akiko TakeshitaCatherine LambertGiovanni Ribisi
Written and Directed by: Sofia Coppola
Length: 97 minutes
Budget: $4 million
Gross Revenue: $119,723,856 (worldwide)

Everyone wants to be found. (tagline)

Review: As much as I disliked her as an actor in Godfather Part III, I really love Sofia Coppola as a director; with Lost in Translation being my favorite one (so far).

Favorite Quote:
Bob
I don’t want to leave.
Charlotte
So don’t. Stay here with me. We’ll start a jazz band.

But I really shouldn’t like this movie. It makes me think: “Hey, nothings happening!” and “Hey, Bill Murray is being dramatic!”.. And yet, I’m mesmerized..

Oscar Count: 1 Win: Best Writing, Original Screenplay (Sofia Coppola)
3 Nominations: Best Picture (Ross Katz, Sofia Coppola) Best Director (Sofia Coppola) Best Actor in a Leading Role (Bill Murray)

And every time I watch it, it makes me think about life and stuff.. Yeah I KNOW, I should hate it. But I don’t. I love it.

Nerdiest Movie Trivia: Sofia Coppola wrote the lead role specifically for Bill Murray, and later said that if Murray turned it down, she wouldn’t have done the movie.

In 1999, Bill Murray replaced his talent agency with an automated voice mailbox that can be reached with an 800 number he gives out sparingly. Sofia Coppola reportedly left hundreds of messages on Murray’s mailbox before he finally called back to discuss her offer to cast him as the star.

PREVIOUS ON THE LIST: 52. Clerks. (1994)

CRITERIA FOR MAKING THIS LIST

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nash permalink
    August 24, 2011 10:59

    Brilliant choice. There’s something a little magical about a movie where nothing much happens yet, at the same time, there’s a whole lot going on. And it’s one of the top reasons I have for absolutely needing to see Tokyo before I die…

    • Sika permalink*
      August 25, 2011 10:59

      Thanks Nash! And yeah, Tokyo would be amazing to see…

      And stick around, I plan on making a bunch more brilliant choices on this list.

  2. August 26, 2011 10:59

    And My Bloody Valentine as part of the soundtrack.

Leave a Reply

