Skip to content

Sika’s 100 Greatest Movies of All Time! 52. Clerks. (1994)

August 22, 2011

52. Clerks. [DVD] (1994)

Plot: Dante Hicks (Brian O’Halloran) is annoyed to say the least; he has to work on his day off, his girlfriend wants to leave him, his ex-girlfriend is getting married, he needs to go to a hockey game, he has to go to a wake, he has to deal with annoying customers and Jay (Jason Mewes) and Silent Bob (Kevin Smith), two annoying drug dealers outside the store.

And he’s getting no help from best friend and next-door video store clerk Randal Graves (Jeff Anderson). 
Also Starring: Marilyn GhigliottiScott MosierWalter FlanaganLisa Spoonhauer
Written and Directed by: Kevin Smith
Length: 92 min
Budget: $27,000
Gross Revenue: $3,151,130 (USA)

Just Because They Serve You… Doesn’t Mean They Like You. (tagline)

Review: I rented this back when it came out in Sweden. I had no idea who Kevin Smith was or what the movie was about, and when I started watching I immediately shrieked: “Wait, what? Black and White?? Eeeewww…”. Stop. Eject. And back to the video store to rent another movie. I didn’t get my money back.. Which made me hate Clerks.

Well, at least for three years.

Then Chasing Amy came out and I loved it so much I decided to watch Mallrats, which lead me to give Clerks a second chance. And I’m glad I did.

Today Kevin Smith is one of my favorite directors.

Favorite Quote:
Dante Hicks
37! My girlfriend sucked 37 dicks!
Customer with Diapers
In a row?

Yes, I know he has slipped a bit lately. That Bruce Willis/Tracy Morgan Cop Out movie really disappointed me. But in his defense, he didn’t write it, which brings me to this movies strength.

The dialogue. Kevin Smith is a master when it comes to dialogue. He’s like the love child of Quentin Tarantino and Aaron Sorkin (when he was doing crack) who was adopted at birth by Cheech and Chong.

And this movie proves it.

Nerdiest Movie Trivia: The “Clerks” logo is made out of letters cut from various magazines and food items. The C is from Cosmopolitan Magazine, the L is from Life, the E is from Rolling Stone, the R is from Ruffles potato chips, the K is from Clark Bar and the S is from a Goobers box.

Remember when I did a cover of Dolly Parton’s 9 to 5? Of course you do, but did you remember it started as a Clerks homage??

the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

PREVIOUS ON THE LIST: 53. High Fidelity (2000)

CRITERIA FOR MAKING THIS LIST

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 22, 2011 10:59

    A real Clerks-fan would’ve placed this at #37.

Leave a Reply

