Skip to content

The Internet of Things

August 14, 2011
tags:
by

The Internet of Things are things that are connected to the internet and can communicate with people and each other. And even if it is still in a very early stage I find it very interesting.

One idea of how you would communicate with your things is trough a “Facebook for things”. Lets call it Thingbook. On the Thingbook you can be friends with your toaster, doorbell, refrigerator and things like that.

So, what is the use? Well, say that I’m at the airport and have forgotten my bag. I can then ask my bag on my Thingbook where it is. It would probably sound something like this:

ME: Where the hell are you?
BAG: I’m hanging out in the hallway, were else would I be?
ME: Ehhh.. at the airport.
BAG: Oh you senile bastard, you forgot me again. This is the third time this year you left me.
ME: I am so sorry, but I need you at the airport pronto!
BAG: Ok, but you owe me, big time. I’m flying business class this time!

My bag will then contact its friend at FedEx and get back to you and say something like.

BAG: I can be there in 50 minutes but it will cost you 50 dollars.
ME: That expensive huh..? But OK.
BAG: See you soon you senile, cheep bastard.

Later my Doorbell will contact me and tell me that there is some shady dude at the door. I check with my thing friend The Camera at the front door and can see that FedEx Guy has arrived. I tell my Front Door to let him in and The Bag is then on its way to the airport.

Quite cool, don’t you think!?

I don’t know why my bag was so rude in my example but I guess that it was pissed of because I forgot it at home several times. I could get a new bag of course but I don’t know if that would be fair when I’m actually the cause of its bitter personality. Group therapy with my toilet and also my bike that I forgot outside the entire winter would probably be more fair, but it’s so darn expensive.

Relationships, Relationships, Relationships, they are always so hard..

However, do you have any funny scenarios on the The Internet of Things theme? Add them as a comment below!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2011 10:59

    The Internet of Things – boggles this mind!

    And perhaps the disgruntled suitcases will set up their own online user group to air grievances about negligent owners and provide mutual support…!

    • August 14, 2011 10:59

      Yes! And after that comes world domination.. of the suitcases.

Trackbacks

  1. The internet of Things | System of Systems (via @youtube) « the Squished Diorama

Leave a Reply

