Skip to content

Sika’s 100 Greatest Movies of All Time! 83. National Lampoons Christmas Vacation (1989)

July 25, 2011

83. National Lampoons Christmas Vacation [DVD] (1989)

Plot: It’s Christmas time and the Griswolds are preparing for a family seasonal celebration, but things never run smoothly for Clark (Chevy Chase), his wife Ellen (Beverly D’Angelo) and their two kids.

Clark’s bad luck streak is worsened by his obnoxious family guests, but he manages to keep going knowing that his Christmas bonus is due soon.
Also Starring: Juliette Lewis, Johnny Galecki, John Randolph, Diane Ladd, Doris Roberts, Randy Quaid, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Brian Doyle-Murray, Nicholas Guest

Directed by: Jeremiah S. Chechik
Written by: John Hughes
Length:
97 min
Budget:
$27,000,000 (estimated)
Gross Revenue: $71,320,000 (USA)

Yule crack up! (tagline)

Review: This is by far my favorite Vacation movie. Not my favorite National Lampoon or even Chevy Chase movie. Or even Christmas movie. But my favorite Vacation movie.

And it’s not even a vacation movie! This time the Griswold family stay at home.
So I guess the title is a bit misleading, like if in “Home Alone” Kevin McCallister was stuck home alone but his mother was also in the house with him.

But regardless of that, this movie is great anyway. It’s starring a Chevy Chase doing a great Chevy Chase; falling, doing facial expressions, uttering great one-liners, and hurting himself some more.

And with a great sidekick in Randy Quaid’s Cousin Eddie the movie gets even more low brow and hilarious.

Favorite Quote:
Eddie: You surprised to see us, Clark?
Clark: Oh, Eddie… If I woke up tomorrow with my head sewn to the carpet, I wouldn’t be more surprised than I am now.

And no wonder it’s funny, it’s written by John Hughes, one of my all-time favorite screenwriters (a couple of his movie will appear later on this list).

It’s on top of my must-see-each-Christmas but I sometimes even bring it out on a hot summer’s day. Just to cool me down and have a laugh.

And for all you people with eye sight out there, yes there are some familiar faces in this movie. Johnny Galecki from The Big Bang Theory is the son of the Griswold family. And Juliette Lewis is the daughter. (But I guess ears would suffice there). Julia Louis-Dreyfus from Seinfeld plays an annoyed neighbor together with Nicholas Guest.

Yes, movie nerds, he’s the younger brother of Christopher Guest, who has had marital sex with Jamie Lee Curtis many, many times. And is also known for being a member of Spinal Tap.

And that celebrity connection alone, makes this movie a must-see and a solid member of any DVD collection!!

PREVIOUS ON THE LIST: 84. The Fisher King (1991)

CRITERIA FOR MAKING THIS LIST

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 25, 2011 10:59

    Yeah, one of my most rewatched movies too. I probably see it about 2 times per year and that is NOT counting watching it on Christmas… So my drunk math skills tells me it makes it 3 times per year…

    …and since it was 21 years ago the movie first celebrated Christmas I have seen it about 63 times. Damn! I have spent MORE than 4 full days and nights of my life watching a movie with a “farting dog”-running gag!

Leave a Reply

