Skip to content

Criteria for Sika’s 100 Greatest Movies of All Time!

July 25, 2011

A lot of people have asked me; how have you been able to put together such an awesome 100 Greatest Movie of All Time list? I then have to remind them, the list isn’t finished yet. But I guess the movies I’ve picked so far are so powerful it already seems like there are 100 of them.

And to all of you who critiqued my choice of putting While You Were Sleeping as n:o 87, I have one thing to say; If that offends you, just wait to see what’s in store later on the list…

And to clarify, here’s the criteria to be picked for my list.
1. Rewatchability. Sure, I thought Citizen Kane was a great movie, but as good as I thought it was, it won’t be making multiple revisits into my DVD-player.

No, this list is for those great movies that you can watch over and over again, year in year out. Maybe they are seasonal movies like National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation or perfect for a movie marathon like The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Either way, if it’s entertaining AND rewatchable enough, it will make my list.
Like, I loved Dr Zhivago too, but it would never get picked on this kind of list, mainly because I’m not pretentious and also because I think one trip to the austere Russian world of Boris Pasternak is enough.

(You had to google austere, didn’t you? Sorry, I thought it would be funny to use the words “not pretentious” and “austere” in the same sentence..)

Maybe putting a 1 in front of that paragraph up there was unnecessary since there’s no number 2 reason… Basically, this is a list of 100 movies you should have in your DVD collection to help you to never again have to ask the question; What the hell am I going to watch tonight?

Because then you could only glance over to your DVD shelf and for instance say; hey, that Sandra Bullock movie looks inviting…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

