Skip to content

Sika’s 100 Greatest Movies of All Time! 88. The Hitcher (1986)

July 20, 2011

88. The Hitcher [DVD] (1986)

Plot: A young man (C. Thomas Howell) escapes the clutches of a murderous hitch-hiker (Rutger Hauer) only to be framed for the hitcher’s crimes, and have his life made into hell by the same man he escaped.

The terror starts when he stops! (tagline)


Genre: Thriller
Also Starring:
Jennifer Jason Leigh, Jeffrey DeMunn, John M. Jackson, Billy Green Bush
Directed by: Robert Harmon
Written by: Eric Red
Length: 97 min
Budget: $6,000,000 (estimated)
Gross Revenue: $5,844,868 (USA)

Review: This movie still scares the hair off my chest. I first saw this one back in 1986 with my friend David. It was during the summer, we were 12 and his five year older brother allowed us to watch it with him. It was an awesome, scary experience. I think this movie may be the reason I never got my driver’s license. AND that I’m still jumpy when someone serves me French Fries.

I remember writing a short story influenced by the movie when I went back to sixth grade in the fall. Which really worried my teacher..

Favorite Quote:
John Ryder: You wanna know what happens to an eyeball when it gets punctured? Do you got any idea how much blood jets out of a guy’s neck when his throat’s been slit?

I had already seen C. Thomas Howell in Soul Man, but his was my first Rutger Hauer encounter. And NO, I hadn’t seen him in Blade Runner. Still haven’t, since Blade runner is a movie that everyone seems to love and is placed high on greatest  movies ever made lists, but I seem not to be able to finish it. You heard it here first folks. I think it sucks!

Rutger Hauer is a great actor though. But he’s sadly one of those Eric Roberts/Sylvester Stallone type of actors who have the ability to be great but more than often fail to pick the right projects. Like, he was good in Hobo with a Shotgun.

The movie wasn’t, but HE was.

Nerdiest Movie Trivia: Sam Elliott was offered the role of John Ryder.

In his book “All Those Moments,” Rutger Hauer discusses how producer Edward S. Feldman settled on Sam Elliott for the role of John Ryder. Hauer states that “Apparently, Elliott was so scary when he came in to audition that Edward S. Feldman was afraid to go out to his car afterward.”

Sam Elliott had a scheduling conflict and had to back out the role.

This movie has been followed by sucky sequels and remakes and if you’ve seem them, don’t be fooled by their worthlessness.

This is the original, the real deal and where all of them failed, I promise you this one doesn’t.

PREVIOUS ON THE LIST: 89. My Life as a Dog aka Mitt Liv som Hund (1985)


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

