Skip to content

Sika’s 100 Greatest Movies of All Time! 87. While You Were Sleeping (1995)

July 20, 2011

87. While You Were Sleeping [DVD] (1995)

Plot: Lucy (Sandra Bullock) is a lonely subway employee whose life consists of living with her cat, avoiding her neighbor and nursing a secret crush on a commuter (Peter Gallagher) who passes her booth every day.

While working she witness him being mugged and pushed off the platform, and saves his life only to find him going into a coma. After being mistaken for his fiancé at the hospital (and not righting that wrong) she is embraced by his family – except for his brother Jack (Bill Pullman), who’s convinced she’s not the real deal.

Also Starring: Peter Boyle, Jack Warden, Glynis Johns, Ally Walker
Directed by: Jon Turteltaub
Written by: Daniel G. Sullivan, Fredric LeBow
Length: 103 min
Budget: $17,000,000 (estimated)
Gross Revenue: $81,057,016 (USA)

A story about love at second sight. (tagline)

Review: This is such a lovely falling in love movie. And there’s a lot of falling happening; not only in love. An ice skater falls, Lucy falls for Peter, Peter falls on the train tracks, Jack falls for Lucy, Lucy falls for Jack, Jack and Lucy fall in front of her apartment, everyone falls for the lie, there’s just a lot of falling.

But the greatest fall of them all is the one made by the biker on a paper route who slips on the icy sidewalk and flips over hard. Almost as hard as I’m laughing at it.


Michael Rispoli almost makes me laugh as hard. He is perfect in the role of Joe ‘Joey’ Fusco, Jr., the amorous and sloppy next-door neighbor of Sandra Bullock’s Lucy. And surprise surprise, under his sloppy exterior beats a golden heart. He’s lovely.

Nerdiest Movie Trivia: The role of Lucy was written for Demi Moore. Sandra Bullock took the role, saying she could relate to it having just broken up from a four year relationship.

Sandra Bullock is lovely too and I realize now this review is kind of sappy. Lovely bla bla Lovely bla bla feel-good movie bla bla falling bla bla in bla bla love. Yeah, I think I really need to toughen it up a bit.

SANDRA BULLOCK IS A LIAR AND AN EVIL PERSON!! Well, her character is anyway! She’s taking advantage of a poor man in a coma, fools everyone they are engaged and even get christmas presents by his family.

Outrageous!!!

But she’s lovely while doing it..

Damn it, I knew I wouldn’t be able to keep up with that harsh tone. I can’t help it, this movie just make me fuzzy and warm. And it also makes me believe that love is out there for everyone. True love, nightly love poem readings and wedding bells and..


I just threw up in my mouth a little. Next movie on my list better be an action-packed manly muscle-fest. I’ll see to it that that’s the case. But please watch or re-watch this while I locate my Steven Seagal DVD’s. I know I have them packed away in a box somewhere..

PREVIOUS ON THE LIST: 88. The Hitcher (1986)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

