Skip to content

Sika’s 100 Greatest Movies of All Time! 89. My Life As A Dog aka Mitt liv som hund (1985)

July 19, 2011

89. My Life As A Dog [DVD] aka Mitt liv som hund (1985)

Plot:  My Life as a Dog is the story of Ingemar (Anton Glanzelius), an adolescent boy with a sickly mother, an absent father and his dog, Sickan.

Things change when Ingemar’s mother goes to the hospital and he is sent to his Uncle’s (Tomas von Brömssen) house and forced to leave his dog behind…


Category:
Drama
Also Starring:
Anki Lidén, Melinda Kinnaman (yes, she’s the older sister of Joel Kinnaman), Kicki Rundgren, Lennart Hjulström, Ing-Marie Carlsson, Jan-Philip Hollström, Leif Ericson
Directed by: Lasse Hallström
Length: 98 min

Det kunde ha varit värre. Jag har faktiskt haft tur. Om man jämför… (tagline)

Review: This is by far my favorite Swedish movie.

So no, there will be no more Swedish ones on my top 100 Greatest Movies of All Time list.

Yup, no Let the Right One in, no As it is in Heaven, no Wallander and no Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (that one came close though, mostly because I love Noomi Rapace and have met her on numerous occasions.)

One Swedish movie that also allmost made it on my list is Strul with my favorite Swede Björn Skifs. I quickly realized this blog is read by mostly Americans and Canadians so to promote a movie that doesn’t have a DVD with english subs would be like offering someone candy and when they reached for the bag kick them in the nuts instead.

When My Life as a Dog came out in 1985 it became not only a success in Sweden it became an international success. It paved the way for director Lasse Hallström to go on to direct actors like Johnny Depp, Leonardo DiCaprio and Richard Gere; lead actor boy Anton Glanzelius got to meet Michael Jackson and it made me fall in love with a twelve-year-old girl actress named Melinda Kinnaman.

… Eh, hang on.. that kind of sounds wrong.. Just to clarify, I myself was 11 years old at the time..

Okay, I ramble. How about getting back to some kind of review.

The movie is based on the novel by Reidar Jönsson and the cast is awesome. I’m prepared to crown them “the greatest cast ever in Swedish movie history” and mostly because the kids are such gems.

While the kids in The Last Airbender ruined 101 minutes of my life, Anton Glanzelius and Melinda Kinnaman shine like.. like..

..well, like that Last Airbender-kid did when he got his seizures or whatever the hell happened to him.

And the supporting cast headed by Thomas von Brömssen shine along with them.

If you haven’t seen it and I guess if your not a Swede or hate subtitles I bet you haven’t, you should really do it.

It’s worth the watch and will make you look sophisticated when people notice it in you DVD shelf.

It’s pretty much like the Bergman films I have stacked on my shelf; they make you look good AND when you finally dust them off and watch them you realize; “Hey, this ain’t half bad!!”

Oscar Count:
2 Nominations: Best Director (Lasse Hallström) and Best Screenplay Based on Material from Another Medium (Lasse Hallström, Reidar Jönsson, Brasse Brännström, Per Berglund)

How it wasn’t nominated in the Best Foreign Picture category is weirder than Al Yankovic.

PREVIOUS ON THE LIST: 90. Wayne’s World (1992)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2011 10:59

    Fantastic movie. Is Melinda Kinnaman related to the guy from The Killing?

    Swedish films in general are awesome. I’ve legitimately liked every Swedish movie I’ve ever seen (well, except for “A Hole in My Heart”, but even that was… um… interesting). I’m just about to start watching a few Bo Widerberg movies over the next few weeks. Any other recommendations?

    I’ve done just about every Bergman that I can, My Life as a Dog, Miss Julie, I Am Curious–Yellow, the dragon tattoo movies, all the Moodysson movies available to me, even Die Zombiejäger and The Phantom Carriage (and a few other silent Sjostrom movies). So anything besides that stuff, I’d be really interested to hear about.

    • Sika permalink*
      July 20, 2011 10:59

      Janne the Director has made a Top Ten Swedish Movies which will be available shortly. And yes, Melinda Kinnaman is the sister of Joel Kinnaman, the Killing guy.

Leave a Reply

