Skip to content

Sika’s 100 Greatest Movies of All Time! 92. The Terminator (1984)

July 10, 2011

92. The Terminator [DVD] (1984)

Plot: A cyborg assassin is sent from the future on a mission to kill Sarah Connor (Linda Hamilton), a young woman whose life will have a great significance in years to come.

Sarah’s only hope of survival is Kyle Reese (Michael Biehn), who is sent from the future to protect her.

Oh, and sleep with her. Without protection. Which is kind of ironic.

Also Starring: Lance Henriksen, Bill Paxton, Paul Winfield, Earl Boen
Directed by: James Cameron
Length: 107 min
Budget: $6.5 million
Gross Revenue: $78,371,200
Revenue/Minute: $732,441

In the Year of Darkness, 2029, the rulers of this planet devised the ultimate plan. They would reshape the Future by changing the Past. The plan required something that felt no pity. No pain. No fear. Something unstoppable. They created ‘THE TERMINATOR’ (tagline)

Review:  For some reason I didn’t see this one until after I had seen its sequel Terminator 2. I don’t know why, I have no good explanation for it. But back in 1992 I listened a lot to Kriss Kross and Vanilla Ice so perhaps I can blame them on me getting the order of the two movies wrong. I don’t know why, but for some reason that excuse makes sense.

Anyway, I love this movie both as a stand alone piece of cinema but also for how it intertwines with its sequel.

As much as the rest of the franchise screws up the chronology of the Terminator events and even add more (confusing) stuff to it, the two James Cameron ones really holds together.

I mean what the hell happened in the third one? I’m not sure if I didn’t like it because of Nick Stahl or if it really was hard to follow because it was a big mess. There were some machines and some rising of them, right?  Oh, and a girl Terminator. Yeah, I kind of liked her.

Nerdiest Movie Trivia: Mel Gibson and Sylvester Stallone both turned down the role of the Terminator.

But back to this one.  Ever wondered what Bill Paxton looks like as leader of a Punk gang? That’s just one of the reasons to see this movie.

Other reasons include: The fact that Arnold Schwarzenegger only has 16 lines of dialogue and the shape of Linda Hamilton’s hair. But mainly because it’s a great movie.

Most Classic Quote: I’ll be back! (The Terminator)
My Favorite Quote: Come with me if you want to live. (Reese to Sarah after he saves her at the night club)

I guess most people have seen it by now, but if you haven’t, do watch it.  Hey, that should have been my entire review: Do. Watch. It. The punctuation marks between the words are just to emphasize that I’m saying them with a Schwarzenegger accent.

And finally.. The Terminator franchise is as I said somewhat confusing at times, but one thing it does prove is that you don’t have to spend $237,000,000 to make one Avatar. Sometimes it can be better to make 36,4 Terminator’s instead. Just saying. I don’t know if that made any sense, but at least I got to prove I can do math.

Do. Watch. It. Hehehe. Accents amuse me.

Sequels in Chronological Order:


Terminator 2: Judgment Day (1991) “Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles” (2008) (TV series)­ Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines (2003) Terminator Salvation (2009)

Oh. and here are some alternative Terminator posters that are really cool!

PREVIOUS ON THE LIST: Glengarry Glen Ross (1992)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2011 10:59

    haha vilka filmminnen 😀

  2. July 11, 2011 10:59

    Now this is more like it. Why isn’t this cat writing those AFI/BFI lists? –“The 100 Best Movies Ever Made …Mostly Suck”

  3. July 11, 2011 10:59

    I always think, the most “amazing” fact about the movie is that a German singer named herself after Sarah Connor. I’m still waiting for the next superstar called Lt. Uhura. Maybe there’s already someone who… – the transatlantic diablog

Leave a Reply

