Skip to content

Sika Goes to Vansbro – Part Three: The Vaseline Covered Spectator

July 7, 2011

The animated comedy series lunki and sika - the office is hot and sika has to be naked to endureAnother day has passed here in Vansbro. The big event everyone is waiting for; Vansbrosimningen is getting closer. On Sunday 3,500 people are swimming 3K to see who’s the fastest.

I am NOT swimming, I’m here as a spectator only. I was tempted to compete but then I heard a life west and my own personal rescue boat was frowned upon. The news that rubbing vaseline all over your body mostly had been replaced by the use of wet suits may have affected my decision too.

My attempts to fill my check list for this week has so far failed. If you missed it before, here it is again:

1. See local band Svenne Rubins.
2. Meet Swedish ski legend Gunde Svan.
3. Meet Swedish singer Patrik Isaksson.
4. An his wife Sofia Rågenklint.
5. Watch the swimming competition Vansbrosimmet on Sunday.
6. Go fishing and catch a fish. We tried today but no luck.
7. Stop sweating.
8. Learn how to take a proper photograph.

I really thought I might have a chance with 7 today, but then me and Anna went on another hellish power walk and the day was ruined. Sweat-wise.

But tomorrow is another day with new opportunities! I’m going on a Gunde Svan hunt!! Wish me luck!!

PREVIOUS POSTS ABOUT SIKA’S TRIP
Very Buff in Vansbro
Do kids still smell like pee?
A Four-Year-Old Girls Top 4 Favorite Things
Sika Goes to Vansbro – Part One: My Graceland
Sika Goes to Vansbro – Part Two: Who Farted?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jan B permalink
    July 7, 2011 10:59

    Is it really called “Vansbrosimningen”? I always thought you said “Vansbrosimmet”… That’s weird.

    • Sika permalink*
      July 8, 2011 10:59

      Hahaha, yeah I screw up on that one. I blame the people here in Vansbro as they use both names. The official one is “Vansbrosimmet” though.

  2. July 8, 2011 10:59

    If you find Gunde Svan; approach him carefully. You never know if it is the white or the black Svan you’ll end up with.

    • Sika permalink*
      July 8, 2011 10:59

      I failed today, but tomorrow I will definitely hunt him down. He is participating in the swim competition!!

Leave a Reply

