Skip to content

Sika Goes to Vansbro – Part One: My Graceland

July 5, 2011

Day one is completed here on my vacation in Vansbro, Sweden. As I suspected it’s less of a vacation and more like a training camp since my friend Anna is making me sweat like a block of cheese in the sun by taking me on two one-hour power walks and then make me do a 1,5 hour mowing the lawn session.

But I like it! I’m going to be buff as Yeff Yagher when I go home in a week. Or at least as buff as Michael Ironside

Noticed the V references I threw in there? Yeah, I thought I’d get you into 80’s mode so you would be able to appreciate the catchy titel I came up with for this post. Okay, to be honest, Janne the Director helped me out. Apparently in the 80’s there was a popular movie character named Ernest. And he went places in the titles of the movies he made; like Ernest Goes to Camp. I guess he was for white people in the 80’s what Madea is for black people today. But funny.

Anyway, the day didn’t just revolve around sweat. I experienced something grand today. I visited MY Graceland!

Björn Skifs, one of my all time favorite Swedes was born and raised here in Vansbro. And I had the opportunity to go and see the house he grew up in. It was an amazing moment.

For those who don’t know, Björn Skifs with his band Blue Swede had a huge billboard no.1 hit in 1974 with a cover of the song Hooked on a Feeling, previously recorded by B.J Thomas. The song was later revived on the Reservoir Dogs soundtrack and also used as the “Dancing baby” song in the Ally McBeal TV show. In Sweden he’s also, apart from being a singer, known for being an actor and comedian.

It wasn’t a “now I can lie own an die” moment to see the house, but close enough and at least I could check it off my list of what to experience while I’m here in Vansbro. Still on the list:

1. See local band Svenne Rubins.
2. Meet Swedish ski legend Gunde Svan.
3. Meet Swedish singer Patrik Isaksson.
4. An his wife Sofia Rågenklint.
5. Watch the swimming competition Vansbrosimmet on Sunday.
6. Go fishing and catch a fish. We tried today but no luck.
7. Stop sweating.
8. Learn how to take a proper photograph.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gudihimlen permalink
    July 6, 2011 10:59

    Björn Skifs comedian??? Of course, he did Thatcher hilarious tv-show Kryzz with Thatcher funny guy Arne Hägerfors back in the 90’s….

  2. Gudihimlen permalink
    July 6, 2011 10:59

    I meant “That” and not “Thatcher” …damn you autocorrect…

  3. July 6, 2011 10:59

    Hahaha! “Thatcher hilarious”? That actually works as a label for really unfunny hilariousness…

    What was it supposed to say?

Leave a Reply

