Skip to content

Hookers are the New Black in Politics

July 2, 2011

Swedish politicians are lame.

Especially when you compare them to American ones. The biggest scandal right now (and has been since the news story broke about a year ago) is apparently the question if former minister of labor Sven Otto Littorin had sex with a prostitute or not.

I’m not in any way condoning sex with prostitutes but isn’t that like the “basic” scandal for politicians?

At least bring it to an Arnold Schwarzenegger or an Anthony Weiner level while your at it. OR why not combine the two?? Pose semi-nude with your illegitimate kid and send chat messages to young girls at the same time!

Yes I know, American politicians are so much more scandalous. They do however have a long way to go to reach the level of Italian Prime Minister Berlusconi and his Bunga Bunga sex parties and Libyan leader Muammar Gaddafi‘s scandalous threat to bomb Europe .

But I wouldn’t be surprised to see that happen. Sarah Palin is still in politics right?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2011 10:59

    Thank you for the link! I don’t agree with you comparison, but perhaps you will eventually learn the error of your ways. I did!

  2. July 3, 2011 10:59

    Well Honey, my biggest error was in trusting those in the media and the Democrat party to tell the truth. I learned that everyone has an agenda and that you had better check everything and judge for yourself. That is why I refuse to belong to a party and my values have become more conservative. Independence and self reliance have changed my way of thinking and my expectations for others.

  3. July 3, 2011 10:59

    Before 2008, I was an avid Democrat and a big supporter of Hillary Clinton. I found it simply amazing the lies that my own party and the media were willing to condone and actively spread about Hillary and then about Sarah Palin. When Hillary betrayed her values and supported Mr. Obama, I decided that Sarah Palin was a better choice. I didn’t like McCain and I still don’t. But Sarah has not disappointed me. It’s interesting that you would associate her with the likes of Anthony Weiner and the others. Forgive me, but I can’t see the comparison. You could just as easily put Hillary in that place and with more reason. Obama, Clinton, Romney and a lot of others, but you picked Sarah. Unlike you, I think that Sarah has been true to her values and has not sold out.

    • Sika permalink*
      July 3, 2011 10:59

      In Sweden she’s mostly known as “the one Tina Fey impersonates” AND for her recent snafoo about Paul Revere, which makes her so much more fun than “Obama, Clinton, Romney and a lot of others” and therefore the prime candidate for a comedic take on political scandals. Like in this post…

      • July 3, 2011 10:59

        So the Historians that came out and said that she was actually right, including the one that led her on the tour, were wrong and the media was right. My friend, that goes against logic to me and as far as the Swedes, what they choose, and it is a choice, to believe, matters very little. If you are so willing to believe the worst without listening to the whole of the facts, the choices you make are flawed as well. Name one instance, and check your facts, in which she has been completely wrong, and then compare it to the gaffes of Obama and Biden. And as for policy, I think she has better ideas.

        • Sika permalink*
          July 3, 2011 10:59

          I guess it all depends on what “facts” reaches over the Atlantic Ocean. We mostly get the fun parts; the scandals, the bloopers, the stupid decisions, the weird statements. Which is fine by me. I get enough of the “boring” parts from Swedish politicians.

          And in my opinion, Sarah Palin is the most fun politician in the States today. And I mean that in a good way.

  4. July 3, 2011 10:59

    I think Sika is being too kind. Palin hasn’t done anything wrong because she hasn’t accomplished ANYTHING yet. I wouldn’t trust that woman to dig my grave when I’m dead so I sure don’t want her hand on “the button” while I’m alive. And I don’t even live in America.

    You don’t need somebody that is “folksy”. You guys need somebody SMART. You guys need somebody like…

    Hm…

    Do I have to pick one now, or can I get back to ya?

  5. July 4, 2011 10:59

    So, lets compare accomplishments, Barack Obama worked for a short time as a Lawyer for Acorn and other community organizers, worked as a part-time guest lecturer, was head of a committee that handed out grants, he was an Illinois State Senator from 1996-2004( who if you look at the record, he voted present 80% of the time), then he was a US Senator from 2005 til he resigned in 2008 to become President in 2009 (he started running for President in 2006, so really didn’t do much as a US Senator except run for Pres.) Oh yes, he also wrote two books, maybe (it seems there are a lot of questions as to whether he actually wrote them)!
    Now Sarah Palin: She first served on her local city council (yes it is a small city, but have you ever attended a small city council? If not you should do so sometime), then as Mayor, as Chair of Alaska Oil and Gas Conservation Commission and ethics supervisor, then as Gov.—then you have to add in the fact that her and her husband ran a successful fishing business for many years. She has also written two books, and has had a travel-loge show on TLC, as well as working as a political analyst for Fox News.
    Can you truly say that she hasn’t accomplished anything? If that is true then Mr. Obama accomplished less than nothing before he became President (if you are fair in your evaluations).
    She has actually accomplished more than many of our past Presidents. Bill Clinton, himself was in politics most of his life before becoming President and except for a short time teaching law, did nothing else. By any normal persons reasoning he accomplished nothing except to be a Politician, and I like Bill Clinton, he was my Gov.
    How many people do you know who have the power to move the nation by a single tweet? How many people do you know who can change the conversation and the policy of the White House by a posting on her facebook page? How in the world do you count accomplishments if you can say that she has none?
    If that is truly you beliefs, you must think that nobody alive has any accomplishments. Barack Obama seems to have everything he tries fail, read a few of my posts and give me an opposing argument. But if all you have to say about Sarah is that she has no accomplishments, you are being deliberately obtuse!

  6. July 4, 2011 10:59

    Now as for “Smart”, do you mean smart like Barack Obama, the so called “smartest man in the room”? If that is what you mean, I think that I will pass on smart, and so will many other Americans. Look where that has gotten us. We are up to six wars, unemployment higher now than it was when he took office with no signs of going down, more debt in his term alone than all past Presidents combined. About to go into a depression. The man that was supposed to be the “great uniter” has managed in a few short years to cause more distrust and strife that any other person in our history. He has betrayed our allies, embraced our enemies, decreased our security. I could go on, but what is the point.
    What we need is someone who actually loves the country, understands what it is to run a business and work for a living, somebody that works well with others and doesn’t spend their time mocking and demeaning those who are opposed. Somebody with some common sense and doesn’t think that they know everything as opposed to someone who thinks that he knows more than everybody else. Someone who will stand with our allies, and thinks government should be limited. Someone that realizes that most people don’t need to be told every thing from what to eat to what to watch or listen to. Someone who actually likes people, rather than someone who thinks that if people can’t do something for him, they aren’t worth his time. As for trusting Sarah to dig your grave, at least you could depend on her to do so if it was necessary. Barack Obama would more than likely leave you to the scavengers, if he even noticed you were dead!

  7. July 4, 2011 10:59

    I didn’t mean Obama – I meant anybody that is smart. ANYBODY.

  8. July 4, 2011 10:59

    Have you ever met a really smart person? I have met a few, and they are really scary sometimes. Most of them do not understand the common man and they have little common sense. There are exceptions of course, but frankly l would rather trust the slightly above average person. They have a better understanding on reality!

  9. July 4, 2011 10:59

    Have you figured a way to turn this conversation into an episode yet? Let me know if you do!

    • Sika permalink*
      July 4, 2011 10:59

      Nope, not yet! But I am tempted to try. And I will certainly let you know when we do!

  10. July 4, 2011 10:59

    I dont mind being scared by smart people. I do hate being scared of “slightly above average persons” though.

Leave a Reply

