Skip to content

Just One More Thing…

June 24, 2011

I just came home from celebrating midsummer. It’s a big thing here in Sweden and it’s basically all about eating herring, dancing around a pole and drinking heavily.

I just went on the Internet. Why have these last couple of weeks been filled with so much bad news?

First James”Zeb Macahan” Arness passed away, which I fully accept since he was old, and then Jackass star and Random Hero Ryan Dunn decides to drink and drive and burns to death in a car crash.

And now Peter Falk is dead.

In a statement issued by his daughter, the 83 year old actor died peacefully two days ago on June 23rd. Yeah, I guess he was old too, but these days 83 is still young so I still get surprised when some actors pass away. I guess suffering from Alzheimer’s doesn’t help.

Not long ago I just knew Peter Falk as the storyteller from The Princess Bride, but a couple of weeks ago my mom introduced me to who I guess everyone older than fifty-five knew him as; Lieutenant Columbo.

I loved the episodes she showed me so much I just had to order “The Complete Collection of Columbo” (buy it here). Tomorrow when I sober up, I’m starting a Peter Falk marathon.

Oh, and just one more thing.. Rest in Peace, Peter Falk, you will be remembered.
the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jan B permalink
    June 25, 2011 10:59

    Not to mention his big hearted contribution in Wings of desire, where he teaches Bruno Ganz’s fallen angel how to be a human.

  2. June 25, 2011 10:59

    And let’s not forget how great he was in John Cassavetes’ movies. He and Gena Rowlands raised the bar on acting in A Woman Under the Influence.

Leave a Reply

