Skip to content

We have Beards so we know Movies: Insidious (2010)

June 2, 2011

I love a good horror movie. Sadly good horror movies are hard to find these days. It’s easy to tell when a horror movie is bad, but I find it hard to tell if it’s good or great.

I blame the flood of bad horror movies that’s emerged from Hollywood ever since.. eh.. what movie would be appropriate to blame here..?

Janne the director thinks I should blame Scream 2. But no, I’d rather blame the ones that all look the same, with a story about a girl being chased by some lunatic, there’s some gratituous boobs and the bad guy survives in the end. Yeah okay Scream 2.

And Saw 1-6. Why is the reality in horror movies blue/grey nowadays? I guess because like Insidious they are all from the makers of “Paranormal Activity” and “Saw”. But I’m getting beside the point here, I guess that’s another discussion for another time. Back to the review:

Insidious (2010) is not a bad horror movie. Not by far. It’s however not great either. It’s a good horror movie, and that’s not too shabby.

The plot: A distraught mother and father looks to prevent evil spirits from taking over their comatose child’s body.

The acting is great, I’m such a fan of Patrick Wilson, how come he’s not a bigger star is beyond me. That puzzles me almost as much as the fact Tobey Maguire is.

Rose Byrne as scared composer wife to Patrick Wilson’s teacher husband is great too. She may not have the Jamie Lee Curtis scream, but who has?


The kids aren’t that great, but as long as their acting surpasses The Last Airbender kids, I’m fine. Everyone has their limit and I’m just glad it was The Last Airbender.

The ghosts/demons/scary people range from seen it before and holy crap, I just peed a little.

Sure, the story may be accused of stealing stuff from other movies like Poltergeist and Ghostwatch, but who cares when it makes you jump in your seat at least ten times and holding on to it the rest of the time? Yes, just like going to the dentist!

Oh, and I didn’t know they would all die in the end! What a surprise!

Just kidding. Go see it.

the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika
More “We have Beards so we know Movies!” Reviews

Red Riding Hood
The Hangover Part II

Fast Five

Thor 3D

Tron: Legacy
The Social Network
The Expendables
The A-Team
A Nightmare on Elm Street (2010)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2011 10:59

    I’m so glad I saw this in the theater. Because, as you say, the ghosts/demons/whatever are extremely creepy. I liked it quite a bit, even with the over the top references to “Poltergeist”. If you’re going to reference a movie, you might as well make it an awesome one like “Poltergeist”.

Trackbacks

  1. We have Beards so we know Movies: Insidious (2010) « Lunki and … | Horror Film / Horror Film News

Leave a Reply

