Skip to content

We have Beards so we know Movies: The Hangover Part II (2011)

May 31, 2011

First of all, here’s a disclaimer for this review: I thought The Hangover was really, really funny and original. I loved the characters; Phil (Bradley Cooper), Stu (Ed Helms), Alan (Zach Galifianakis) and Doug (Justin Bartha). It is easily one of the funniest movies I’ve ever seen.

So now, let’s start the review for The Hangover – Part II.

I knew going in that it was going to be based on the same winning formula as the first one; “best friends have a bachelor party, get wasted and realize when they wake up in a strange place they lost someone and must retrace their steps in order to find him”.

This time around it’s dentist Stu who is about to get married. In Thailand. And after a beer on the beach something goes terribly wrong. Well, you know what happens if you’ve seen The Hangover.

What I didn’t know was they were making a carbon copy of the first movie. If you lay the two movies on top of each other you would be amazed of all the similarities. Okay fine, maybe it’s not a carbon copy; they changed tiger to monkey, baby to monk, lost friend to lost nephew-in-law..

Don’t get me wrong, I loved to see the characters again, but with these similarities the movie lost a bit of the edge it could have had. And it made some of the jokes feel re-used as well. Sure, the movie was still funny, but it wasn’t nearly as funny as the original hangover. If The Hangover was a 8.5 on my 10 point scale, The Hangover – Part II is a solid 6.

When they make The Hangover – Part III (and I hope they do, and I’m sure they will) I hope they steer clear from the formula, at least a bit. I would love to see them have a bachelor party for Alan (Zach Galifianakis) and then loose him. I’m not saying I don’t think he’s funny, but he’s a less is more kind of character.

And for God’s sake, no more Mike Tyson. In that case, less is preferred. Enough already.

the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika
More “We have Beards so we know Movies!” Reviews

Red Riding Hood
Fast Five

Thor 3D

Tron: Legacy
The Social Network
The Expendables
The A-Team
A Nightmare on Elm Street (2010)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2011 10:59

    Aaaaah… This brings back memories of nights I have forgotten. Like the night I watched Hangover 1. By the sound of Sika’s review part 2 will feel as fresh to me as new underwear on a Monday.

  2. Betsy permalink
    May 31, 2011 10:59

    But the monkey is so cute!

    • June 1, 2011 10:59

      Well, you don’t have to listen to him whine about why women don’t like him all day… Oh! You didn’t mean Sika. Sorry. Yeah, that monkey is cute but I prefer him in “Bored to Death”.

Leave a Reply

