Skip to content

Janne the Director’s Favorite Rare Movies Top 100 List #2: Bride of Frankenstein (1935)

May 23, 2011

Janne the Director with a Space Mahoney t-shirt from the movie No Law 40002. Bride of Frankenstein [DVD] (1935)

Yeah, second place on my Rare List.

Have you seen it? Really?  Okay, true or false? This movie has miniature people in glass jars.

Yeah… I thought so. You think you have seen it because you have seen Young Frankenstein. Just go watch it, okay?

(And if you HAVE seen it… go watch the remake with Sting that’s actually quite good.)

PREVIOUS ON THE LIST: 3. The Devils (1971)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2011 10:59

    Is it blasphemy if I prefer “Bride” to the original (which I also liked a ton)? The pacing in the last 20 minutes-ish is incredible, with the beating of the human heart used to set up the frenzy. It’s a classic in just about every way.

  2. Janne the Director permalink
    May 23, 2011 10:59

    Yes and no… The Bride (the one with Sting) is indeed a great film but it doesn’t really push the envelope further like the original do.

    And I honestly don’t know what “push the envelope” means… I have some googling to do.

    • May 23, 2011 10:59

      Ah, just to clarify, when I say “I prefer ‘The Bride’ to the original”, I’m referring to the 1935 Bride of Frankenstein, compared to 1931’s “Frankenstein”.

      I’ve never seen the Sting version.

      • Janne Fantastic permalink
        May 23, 2011 10:59

        Ah! Well then you are just fine! I think Bride of is about 20 times better than the first one AND I really love that one too!

  3. Janne the Director permalink
    May 23, 2011 10:59

    Oh, and for those of you who want the answer to the “have you really seen it?”-question in my text:

  4. May 23, 2011 10:59

    I also think it’s really cool that they used Lord Byron and Mary Shelley in the intro to the film.

  5. May 23, 2011 10:59

    I’ve riffed on your article here for my own blog entry tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

