Skip to content

Janne the Director’s Favorite Rare Movies Top 100 List #20: Electra Glide In Blue (1973)

April 28, 2011

The Director of the Animated Comedy Series Lunki and Sika Janne the Director20. Electra Glide In Blue [DVD] (1973)

Once upon a long time ago Robert Blake wasn’t just “the white OJ”.

He is one of my favorite actors of all time, I used to watch him preach to kids on the street corners why drugs are bad on every episode of Baretta because Blake knew how to deliver lines.

He was also the ugly James Dean of the 70’s.

This is the ultimate biker cop movie, a genre wish they did more of. Personally I’m sick and tired of all the cop movies these days – but that is mostly because we are drowning in shitty gimmicky cop shows on TV. But here you get the cool detective aspects from a cop movie and the danger in some great bike chases (fuck car chases) and Robert Blake as the biggest badass cop ever on wheels.

Actually, he might be the shortest cop ever… but that’s besides the point.

And then there is that end… that I won’t spoil for you. But it’s the most iconic image ever. I used to have that on a t-shirt but lost it somehow in a drunk daze between a BBQ-lunch at a neighbor and waking up with a hot bowl of soup on a grassy field… in Denmark.

PREVIOUS ON THE LIST: 21. Twisted Nerve (1968)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 10:59

    I’d never even heard of this movie until a month ago. But I keep hearing more and more good things about it (including this review). So I feel like I am going to have to check it out very, very soon.

  2. Janne the Director permalink
    April 29, 2011 10:59

    Do that John and let us know what you thought about it!

  3. June 14, 2011 10:59

    I get this at home tonight (and will probably watch it tomorrow). I’m excited.

  4. June 15, 2011 10:59

    Holy crap, how long is that tracking shot at the end?!?! I feel like somewhere on a highway in Arizona, there’s still some poor cinematographer on a dolly that’s been very slowly moving backwards since 1973.

    I thought this was a pretty damned good movie. I first added it to my watch list because it’d been listed in the commentary of Hot Fuzz as an influence and I can definitely see some of that. It was well-written and, as you say… what an ending. I’m also a sucker for the goofy 70’s hippies vs. cops perspective (in this and a billion other movies).

Leave a Reply

