Skip to content

Janne the Director’s Favorite Rare Movies Top 100 List #30: The Stunt Man (1980)

April 22, 2011

janne the director from lunki and sika wearing a The Shield logo t-shirt30. The Stunt Man [DVD] (1980)

The Stunt Man has NOTHING to do with the Lee Majors classic TV-series The Fall Guy! I don’t know how many I’ve met who said “Oh, they made a feature film out of that?” when I mention this film…

Not only did this come before Lee Majors proved that stuntmen can do anything no matter how out of shape they are – the only thing they have in common is how they both portray filmmaking with as much realism as Glenn Beck portrays…anything. But what’s real anyway?

If God could do the tricks that we can do, he’d be a happy man…

Tagline for “The Stuntman” (1980)

Steve Railsback (what happened to you?! You used to be BRILLIANT!) plays a Vietnam war vet who’s chased by police but not named John Rambo. He hides on a movie set where director Peter O’Toole (what happened to your face?! You used to have one!) gives him a job as a stunt man (Duh!). And then there is Barbara Hershey (what happened to you?! You… you actually look the same today and that is just weird and spooky) as the leading actress in the film they are shooting.

So far the film is pretty straight forward if not very believable. Then it just takes a big chug of Tiger Blood and goes insane. There isn’t a single scene that we OR the characters can be sure is happening for real or not. And by “for real” I mean in the movie. And by “in the movie” I mean the movie within the movie. Ehm…

Let’s try a new plot description, it’s actually easier than it sounds; guy meets director with hubris, meets girl, director tries to kill him or maybe not and maybe there isn’t a girl, well there is but does she only like the boy in the movie or..?

And explosions.

I’m kind of confused myself. Maybe I didn’t see the film but saw a film where I saw it? I give up. I think I know the music is great?

Somebody yell “CUT!” and get me out of here, please…

PREVIOUS ON THE LIST: 31. Barbarella (1968)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

