Skip to content

Janne the Director’s Favorite Rare Movies Top 100 List #100: The Virgin Spring (1960)

March 22, 2011

Janne the Director with a Space Mahoney t-shirt from the movie No Law 4000I felt like organizing things and since it’s about time for me to do my taxes I decided I should organize everything else instead of doing that. So I made a list of 100 favorite movies that I don’t think enough people have seen and I will post them here – one movie at a time.

100. The Virgin Spring [1960] [DVD] (1960)

Yeah, I started off with a Bergman movie. I know what you’re all thinking: “Janne the Director is a pretentious asshole”.  Well so was Bergman so it fits my list (but I promise that the next movie will make you think “what the fuck?!”).

Bergman didn’t write this one and I think that’s why it doesn’t come off as his other films that are, in my opinion, nicely shot radio dramas. Things actually happen before your eyes in this film and aren’t just told to us by a bunch of great actors reading it from a great text.

But if you still think this is too pretentious just go ahead and watch Wes Craven’s remake: The Last House on the Left (1972). And if that still doesn’t do the trick you can watch Dennis Iliadis’ remake of the remake The Last House on the Left (2009).

The only thing weird about horror remakes of Bergman films is that it doesn’t happen more often. All his movies are horror movies except that in his movies they talk (and talk) about the fear of death while in [most] horrors you are actually threatened by it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

