Skip to content

My Top 10 Favorite TV Shows Older Than Me

October 29, 2010

The Director of the Animated Comedy Series Lunki and Sika Janne the DirectorThese days every damn TV-show is about plot twists or cliffhangers. Or it’s a remake with a sexier younger cast that can’t act. And don’t mention reality shows – they’re all dead to me. So after giving up on shows like The Event (that uses quick editing and plot devices from Lost to hide the fact that it’s a flat and heartless mess) I decided to go back to the well and watch some actually original shows. Before they were remade.

10. The Outer Limits (1963-65)
I won’t pretend that stealing concepts is a new phenomenon. They clearly stole its whole concept from The Twilight Zone (which stole its concept from Alfred Hitchcock Presents (which stole its concept from The Bible)). But they sure stole shit with swagger back then!

9. Alfred Hitchcock Presents (1955-1962)
This was a little bit too dry for my taste but it had some really scary things going for it. Like the opening segment where this fat dude mumbled like Winston Churchill! I fear the day they will try to remake this show and have somebody like M. Night Shyamalan in a fat suit present stories only he find fulfilling.

8. The Addams Family (1964-1966)
…is actually more iconic than great. I can seriously not remember a single plot from this show and I have seen every episode at least twice. But I remember some gags and every character and the few things that stuck to my memory bank is pretty cool stuff. And even though it’s not great… it’s good.

7. The Munsters (1964-1966)
The show mostly known as “that Addams Family rip off”. And sure, it got a load of similarities but it stands on it’s own two feet in the end. The canned laughter annoys the shit out of me but it got heart and soul like no other series about lifeless characters (Star Trek – The Next Generation). And Herman Munster, the Frankenstein’s monster daddy of the show, would win any Father of the Year contest.

6. Get Smart (1965-1970)
Fuck Chuck.

5. Rich Man, Poor Man (1976)
Nobody remembers Peter Strauss these days but he was the Matthew Fox of the 70’s except it took more than 6 months to forget him (Matthew Fox played the lead in Lost). Strauss was great but the actor you will never forget here is Nick Nolte. Young and awesome. And this show had the best TV-villain ever: Falconetti. If you don’t know who that was just mention his name to your parents and watch them get shivers down their spines.

4. Star Trek (1966-1969)
No, not the stiff upper lip dribbles that The Next Generation brought with it. Seriously, even though Captain Kirk was surrounded by papier-mâché worlds, Picard’s gang made the universe seem lifeless. Captain Kirk boldly steered his Enterprise with his balls and Picard seemed to think that being on the bridge was a break from sipping tea.

3. Mission: Impossible (1966-1973)
Back in the days these impossible missions where performed by a team and not by a couch jumping one-man show. And each episode was about characters, something today’s shows have forgotten. Who needs characters when you got mysteries like airplanes disappearing (Lost, The Event and I bet there was a plane missing somewhere in the other Lost rip off Flashforward). During the original series the M:I team didn’t have many James Bond gadgets – hell, they didn’t even have cellphones! So they relied on characters instead, figured out what made them tick and how to use it against them.

2. Baretta (1975-1978)
“Don’t do the crime if you can’t do the time. (Don’t do it!)”Awesome theme song for starters. But every fucking theme song those days were awesome so it doesn’t count. What make this so damn great is Robert Blake in his pre-“white O.J.”-days. He’s a lowlife with a heart. A bum. A bum that talks like he was Marlon Brando or James Dean… taking a shit.

1. The Twilight Zone (1959-1964)
No, kids… The Twilight Zone isn’t the name of the gay bar that Edward and Jacob hangs out at. It’s one of the greatest supernatural mystery shows ever that delivered a mind-blowing payoff at the end of EVERY episode. It took Lost six YEARS to not do that.

I know I haven’t listed a bunch of shows that are timeless classics, shows like Dragnet, The Mod Squad or The Avengers because I haven’t seen them (but I want to include The Avengers just because Diana Rigg is hot). I didn’t include shows like Batman because they are shit. And if I were six years younger Automan would make my list. Or four years younger and we would have The Greatest American Hero here! The Incredible Hulk was just a year away from making it!

But this was my list… What would I find in yours?

the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika
More Lunki and Sika Movie Top Lists!

Top 10 Steps to Becoming a Hollywood Celebrity
Top 10 Most Annoying TV Characters (2011 Edition)
My Top 5 Worst Movies of 2010
My Top 10 Favorite Movies of 2010
My Top 10 Favorite Amnesia Movies
My Top 10 Favorite Kids Movies to make grown Men Cry
My Top 10 Favorite Lonely Movies
My Top 5 Unforgettable Movies

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

