Skip to content

DC-problem No.1: Overly Excited About “That Facebook Movie”

October 26, 2010

The Director of the Animated Comedy Series Lunki and Sika Janne the DirectorOh crap… I have a huge DC-problem (Developed Country Problem). Sika and me is going to see The Social Network tomorrow and my expectations are WAY too high! It got David Fincher with an Aaron Sorkin script and the return of an actor I’ve been waiting years to see on the big screen again: David Selby. So you can see that I’m expecting… a.. huge… What? You don’t know who David Selby is? What the fuck..?

He kicked ass on Falcon Crest and he wasn’t Lorenzo Lamas! 3 years ago he was in HBO’s fuck fest “Tell Me You Love Me” as the man in that old couple that made you change channels because it was during those brief moments of the show where hot people didn’t get it on HBO style.

Anyway, back to the topic: I need my expectations lowered before I see The Social Network. Okay, so what do we have to be annoyed at first glance?

1. THE PLOT
Well, it’s a movie about nerds that created Facebook. In my book (not facebook) that pretty much make this S#*! My Dad Says – The Motion Picture (see how I got it into a Star Trek/Shatner reference?).

2. THE ACTORS
The lead is Jesse Eisenberg. A poor man’s Michael Cera. I think Eisneberg’s agent only get phone calls when Cera is sick or busy or not picked because the audience is sick of his shtick but the script calls for “a Michael Cera type”.
Rooney Mara is here in Sweden now, filming the American remake of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and as a Swede it’s my duty to hate her because Americans can’t do things better than us. Except being too fat to hide their guns at home so their kids can bring them to school, of course. Oh, and Fincher is directing that remake so I got to hate him too now. Hope he chokes on some Swedish hooker’s clog.
Justin Timberlake… Fuck. I can’t hate that handsome man. I never even noticed him when he was doing things that should make me wanna hit teenage girls for lack of taste.

3. THE SCREENWRITER
Aaron Sorkin… uhm… looks like if the old and fat Val Kilmer ate Matt Damon. Sure, it won’t lower my expectations on the movie but it makes me feel a little bit better.

4. THE MUSIC
Trent Reznor from Nine Inch Nails is behind the music. I have been listening to it and it’s actually great. But the mere thought of a Trent Reznor fan makes me angry and I hope I will see a few of them (yeah, we can all recognize them) in the theater so I can roll my eyes. A good eye roll physically tells your body and mind to lower all kind of expectations – no matter what.

There… I just looked over at Sika as he’s looking up “stretch marks” on Wikipedia and had a good eye roll. I feel much better already. And if you know any other reasons why The Social Network might suck let me know. Bring it on, nerds!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Janne permalink
    October 27, 2010 10:59

    Just hours away from seeing the movie now and I came up with another reason to dislike it!

    It’s about nerds working through the Internet, right? But the actors seems fairly handsome and after spending time with Sika I know that that’s a Hollywood lie. I can understand that the filmmakers didn’t wanna cast Shrek but they could at least have gone half way, right? I’m sure any actor from the American Pie movies were available! They all look like they were adopted on craigslist but got a glimmer of handsome in a certain light and angle.

Leave a Reply

