Skip to content

Death by Stereo

March 10, 2010

Corey Haim wasn’t a great actor and the last years of his “career” was pretty much a joke – a joke I don’t feel like getting into on a day like this. Instead I like to reminisce on ways Corey Haim has affected my life.

How Corey Haim got me detention:
I like to remember him today for all those parts he did earlier in his career that somehow meant a lot to me as a kid: Marty Coslaw in Stephen King’s Silver Bullet, Lucas in Lucas and of course; Sam Emerson screaming “Death by stereo!” in The Lost Boys – something I actually shouted out loud one time in History class when my teacher asked what happened to Napoleon.

How Corey Haim got me laid:
Even if me and my friends watched The Lost Boys a lot growing up, I think we watched License to Drive even more. Back then it wasn’t because of Corey to be honest – it was because of the girl… the very young and very drunk Heather Graham. But I like to think we liked that movie more because we could relate to Corey. If he could do it maybe we could too? All we had to do was to steal grandpa’s car and get the girl drunk, right?

Actor Corey Haim was found dead this morning around 3 a.m. after an accidental drug overdose. He was 38.

He was a likable kid. And I will miss him.

One Comment leave one →
  1. gudihimlen permalink
    March 10, 2010 10:59

    …so The Thrills finally got the answer to their song “What ever happened to Corey Haim”…

    Kind of liked him..
    RIP

Leave a Reply

