Skip to content

The 2010 Academy Awards Epilogue

March 8, 2010

Phew! What a night! We sat up and watched the 82nd Academy Awards together here at the office and had a little Oscar party of our own. Here are some of the nightly results.

  1. I beat Janne the Director in the office Oscar pool by predicting more winners than him. My 14 vs. his 11. Three more. Just like the number of statues that The Hurt Locker beat Avatar by. Coincidence? I think not. But I salute our eminent Director for picking The Hurt Locker for Best Picture. I was truly surprised by that, I was certain that Avatar would get it. Not because it was worth it but because I had a hunch. So much for my hunches. But I guess my other picks was pretty good.
  2. Our Swedish friends and colleagues Patrik Eklund and Mathias Fjellström did not win an Oscar for Live Action Short Subject. Or I guess they might have. When they gave out the awards for Short Documentary, Animated Short and Live Action Short they were like; “You! You! You! Here’s your statues”. And then the orchestra started playing. And it was over.
  3. Steve Martin ruled the evening. And without his banjo.
  4. The first woman ever won the Oscar for Best Directing. Kathryn Bigelow got her Oscar for The Hurt Locker and well deserving might I add. And no Janne the Director, the fact that she is a MILF had nothing to do with it.
  5. And speaking of Janne the Director; when picking the movie UP for Best Animated Feature he was quoted saying;

    Coraline was fantastic but if UP doesn’t win I promise I will listen to The Best of Sika nonstop for a year. Yes, there is a Best of Sika CD out there. He gives them to everybody every Christmas, birthday or (worst of all) Valentine’s Day.

My response to that is: Janne the Director, as soon as I’m finished with my new CD Sika Sings – but not along I will give you a copy. I know you want it. You don’t have to disguise your begging. Just be honest. You love my singing.

More about the Oscars:

aftonbladet (swedish) / expressen (swedish)

Breaking News and Sport / The Guardian

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 10:59

    Hi, guys ~

    I’m not sure why, but I really get a kick out of your posts. Love the graphics for one thing, and the posts themselves are often quite fun.

    You can count me one of your peeps!

    • Sika permalink*
      March 9, 2010 10:59

      That’s great, we love to have you as one of our peeps!!

  2. March 10, 2010 10:59

    You’re supposed to look straight into the camera on an album cover!

    • Sika permalink*
      March 10, 2010 10:59

      I used one of the many paparazzi photos of me for the cover. That’s why.

Leave a Reply

