Skip to content

Scoop: HE plays “Johan” in the Gevalia FIKA Commercial

April 10, 2012

A moment ago I wrote about the mysterious actor who plays the Swedish character Johan in the U.S. Gevalia commercial. I couldn’t help myself, my curiosity was too strong, so I decided to channel my inner Columbo and solve the mystery myself. And believe it or not, I did!

His name is Jon Prescott and he is actually born in Mountain View, California, USA. That explains why his “Swedish” accent sounded more like a mashup between German and Danish. And why, as I said in my previous post, he couldn’t even pronounce the Swedish word “fika” correctly. 
Since fika is kind of important in the Swedish culture there have been protests on forums and on Youtube about Swedish company Gevalia not getting the accent right.

Next time Gevalia should hire me and Sika to get the authentic bad Swedish/English accents. We’ve been practicing our entire life, we would totally nail it!

Now I’m taking a deserving fika. But NOT Gevalia.

the animated comedy series and blog lunki and sika

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2012 10:59

    Have you ever called the Gevalia 800 number to place an order? The operator pronounced the name of the company with a hard G sound at the beginning and the strongest accent on the first syllable. I couldn’t help but laugh and ask, “What?!”

  2. Anonymous permalink
    February 19, 2013 10:59

    How do you pronounce fika, then?

    • Anonymous permalink
      April 22, 2013 10:59

      **fee-kah** (source: have been working with a certain swedish furnishing retailer for 5 yrs)

  3. Paula permalink
    February 26, 2013 10:59

    Sorry, I can’t get past the horrible wig they have on him to even hear what he is saying…worst commercial ever.

    • March 1, 2013 10:59

      The first ad, in the airport was the best – moved fast, nonsensical, kind of retro

    • Margit permalink
      May 24, 2014 10:59

      Sorry but this is the worst commercial ever, terrible wig, terrible accent, unreal characters…. What ad agency takes credit for this?

  4. March 1, 2013 10:59

    While in character does he wear a wig?

  5. Sammy permalink
    March 26, 2013 10:59

    He also plays sexy Mark Flemming on Lifetime’s The Client List.

  6. July 25, 2013 10:59

    I turn the sound off! He’s not my cup of tea, oops, I mean coffee!!

  7. Joyce Roberson permalink
    November 11, 2013 10:59

    Such a bad commercial! The man that plays the guy in the bad wig and sad suit is really a handsome man!

  8. December 5, 2013 10:59

    Fika is a complicated concept. I know I had a lot of trouble understanding how an entire nation could spend all day eating donuts and cake and not get fat. And too, everywhere I went the first time I stayed i sverige, people were constantly feeding me cake. I drank an enormous amount of coffee, most of it not Gevalia. Whenever I see the Gevalia man on TV when I’m back in the States, I laugh (mostly to myself) since I don’t know why they hired him. No one in Sweden looks like him, at least not in that jacket or with that hair.

  9. Anonymous permalink
    May 24, 2014 10:59

    Ok it’s the worst commercial and his wig is awful and h?is his accent is even worse. What ad agency did this

  10. Helen permalink
    July 15, 2014 10:59

    Such a handsome guy…why the wig at all ???? BAAAAAAAD commercial.

Trackbacks

  1. Swedish words missing from English

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,962 other followers

