Skip to content

Movie Moron

March 29, 2012

I hate when I don’t understand movies. It doesn’t happen that often, but when it does, it makes me feel stupid.

I remember when it only used to be David Lynch movies that made me feel like I was the dumbest person in the world, and back then there was no Internet to help me out with answers. I actually had to wait for people to see them (or make them by using force), just so I could ask them the question I raised as soon as I’d seen the movies myself:

What the hell was that movie about??
I’m not saying ALL David Lynch movies are incomprehensible, I did understand all of  The Elephant Man and almost half of  Mulholland Dr.

That last one was however my final attempt of watching a Lynch movie. I was fed up trying to figure them out. And they made my brain ache.

But boycotting David Lynch didn’t help me much. Other directors has since taken it upon themselves to make me feel like a moron instead. But nowadays there is thankfully always some clever movie nerd on an internet forum that can help “the retard” out in explaining the secret meanings and layers of movies like:

The Tree of Life (2011)
Synecdoche, New York (2008)
A Serious Man (2009)
Suicide Club (2001)

Do you have any suggestions of other movies like that? You know those kind of movies where you later find out on some movie forum that you actually had to have read the entire Bible or some obscure German children’s story to understand it? Let me know, I would love to make a “Top 10 Brainiest Movies Ever”.

Internet lesson of the day:
an idiot  is a stupid person with a mental age below three years, while a moron  is a stupid person with a mental age of between seven to twelve years.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2012 10:59

    How about the mother of all ‘What-the-hell-is-this-movie-about-arrrrgh!’-movies, 2001: Space Odyssey?
    I was kinda with it with the monkey’s and the big black brick, and I got kinda excited out in space when there looked to be a plot to the movie. Then HAL sang a song and died, I got treated to what must have seemed like some pretty nice colours in 1968, Spaceman Dave got really old in his nice space-pad and there was a giant baby, the end.

    • Sika permalink*
      April 1, 2012 10:59

      Great suggestion! I had totally forgotten how weird that movie turned out to be in the end. That one will definitely make my list.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,964 other followers

