Skip to content

Sika’s 100 Greatest Movies of All Time! 49. Dirty Dancing (1987)

August 26, 2011

49. Dirty Dancing [DVD] (1987)

Plot:  17-year-old “Baby” Houseman (Jennifer Grey) is spending the summer of 1963 with her family at a resort hotel.

One night Baby discovers a party going on in the employee’s dormitory, and falls head over heels in love with dance teacher Johnny Castle (Patrick Swayze). When Johnny’s dance partner, Penny (Cynthia Rhodes), finds herself pregnant after a fling with one of the waiters, Baby volunteers to take her place as Johnny’s dance partner.

Have The Time Of Your Life (tagline)

Also Starring: Jerry OrbachJack WestonJane BruckerKelly BishopWayne Knight
Directed by: 
Emile Ardolino
Written by: Eleanor Bergstein
Length: 100 min
Budget: $6,000,000 
Gross Revenue: $213,954,274 (Worldwide)

Favorite Quote: (Yeah, I know.. But I couldn’t help it. I had to pick this one..)
Johnny
Nobody puts Baby in a corner.


Review: As you can see from my picture in the beginning I too can cary a watermelon. I look a bit surprised though, which I was, because it wasn’t as heavy as I thought it would be.

Oscar: 1 Win: Best Song (Franke Previte, John DeNicola, Donald Markowitz) “(I’ve Had) The Time of My Life”.

Anyway.. People (my male friends) constantly point out that this movie is a “chick-flick” and that my love for this movie is “weird” and that my “anger” for the upcoming “remake” is “unfounded”.

But I don’t “care”. This movie is just so “adorable”; they “dance”, they “fall in love”, they… oh, sorry about all those extra misguided quotation marks.. I got “Shift+2″-trigger happy there for a while… But damn it, I love this movie! There, I said it. Without quotation mark.

Nerdiest Movie Trivia: Val Kilmer was initially offered the lead but declined. Billy Zane was also considered for the lead role, but he didn’t dance well. He has said in an interview that he and Sarah Jessica Parker both auditioned for the leads.

PREVIOUS ON THE LIST: 50. The Last Waltz (1978)

CRITERIA FOR MAKING THIS LIST

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,962 other followers

